This World

A poem about living with a mental illness

Confined to this world and darkened place

Sometimes I cannot look at my own face

Where the images are black, disturbed and grey

It’s because of these thoughts that lead to dismay

 

Blackened mind that tears me apart

Redundant emotions now live in my heart

Where no glimmer of light does ever appear

With all of my senses now pointing to fear

 

Dispirited by guilt I live in shame

No need to reason I’ll take the blame

With nothing physical to show them all

Accepting the fact I know I will fall

 

But unlike the past with souls locked away

There is hope and means for a better day

For now so many do listen and care

Giving hope to the minds they try and repair

Leave a Reply

